The end of Montreal MMA News, the start of something bigger…

Hello readers, firstly I apologize for the lack of updates recently. Things have been brewing behind the scenes, all leading up to this – I will no longer be updating Montreal MMA News. Just over a year after launching, the time has come for me to fully move on to the bigger and better. I will continue to bring the best possible journalism focused on the Quebec scene, but will now be writing for a larger, national audience.

As some of you may know, I’ve begun working for a larger Canadian MMA siteTop MMA News. I was glad to join the team there because it mirrored my editorial attitude. Specifically writing news, not re-worded press releases or uncritical analysis. MMA is a growing sport, and it requires serious, hard-nosed journalism, not yes-man fanboy coverage. Double publishing seems like a waste of time, so I’ll no longer be doing it.

You can keep track of my work at Top MMA News by:

  1. Bookmarking Top MMA News, and liking Top MMA News on Facebook. If you’re specifically interested in only my articles there, bookmark my author page.
  2. Sending me a friend request on Facebook. Everything I publish, I share there.
  3. Following me on Twitter @JulianCClapp. All my posts get tweeted.

I started this blog while in journalism school because I wanted to report on MMA, but was unwilling to wait for someone at an existing site to give me permission. Such is the power of the internet.

Dozens of events, articles, and recaps later, not to mention over one hundred interviews later, I can say that my first year covering the biz was quite an enjoyable one. Yeah, the site design was never great, but I felt like I was doing good work.

For that reason I will leave the site up, pictures, interviews, and all, as a historical record of the year that was Quebec MMA in 2011. Nothing new will be added though. Thanks to everyone who took the time to speak with me, it’s (usually) been a pleasure.

Thanks for the support, specifically to everyone who took time to help me out (you know who you are), and I sincerely hope you will continue to follow my work,

Julian Cymbalista-Clapp

This entry was posted in Website Info. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment